Screaming In The Wind: CD
  • Screaming In The Wind: CD

Screaming In The Wind: CD

In cart Not available Out of stock

Screaming In The Wind Album Info

  1. Hard Time Killing Floor Blues Written by Skip James

  2. Pack It Up Written by G. Chandler / Gonzales

Drums: Tom Hambridge Muscle Shoals Horn Section: Charles Rose - trombone Jim Horn - tenor & baritone Saxophones Vinnie Seizeilski - trumpet

  1. Red Line Written by Tom Hambridge, Richard Fleming and Dudley Taft

  2. Screaming In The Wind Written by Tom Hambridge, Dudley Taft

  3. 3DHD Written by Dudley Taft

  4. Keep My Eyes On You Written by Tom Hambridge, Dudley Taft

  5. The Reason Why Written by Richard Fleming, Tom Hambridge and Dudley Taft

Drums: Tom Hambridge

  1. Rise Above It Written by Dudley Taft

  2. Barrio Written by Dudley Taft

Drums: Tom Hambridge Ann McCrary – backing vocals Regina McCrary – backing vocals

  1. Sleeping In The Sunlight Written by Tom Hambridge and Dudley Taft

  2. Tears In Rain Written by Richard Fleming and Dudley Taft

  3. Say You Will Written by Dudley Taft

© Big Woody Music, BMI © Tom Hambridge Tunes, ASCAP © Richard Fleming Music, BMI

Produced by Tom Hambridge Recorded at The Switchyard and Rendering Plant, Nashville; Muchmore Studio, Cincinnati Engineered by Michael St. Leon Mastered by Ashley Shepherd at Audio Grotto

All Tracks: Dudley Taft – vocals, guitar John Kessler – bass guitar Jason Patterson - drums Reese Wynans – B3 Organ *Unless otherwise noted

Screaming In The Wind is Dudley Taft’s third solo effort.

This is the first solo album I have done produced by someone outside the band. Several songwriting sessions in Nashville with producer Tom Hambridge and songwriter Richard Fleming helped the songs take shape before recording. It was refreshing to work with other great songwriters for the first time, and it gives Screaming In The Wind a different flavor.

Reese Wynans of Stevie Ray Vaughan fame plays some wicked B3 organ on the CD. He really shines on a bunch of the songs, elevating them to levels I never imagined. Check out his ripping solo on “The Reason Why”.

Tom Hambridge called in the best musicians for select overdubs: The McCray sisters bring smooth gospel harmonies to “Barrio” and the Muscle Shoals Horn Section shines on Freddie King’s “Pack It Up.”

So far I have done a Freddie King song on every CD, and this was no exception. I love the funky vibe and tight arrangement of “Pack It Up.” We poured gasoline on it and lit a match.

The song “Screaming In The Wind” started as a custom instrumental riff I did for the American Blues Scene. They told me it should be a song, and I think it may have turned out to be one of the strongest on the record. Tom Hambridge and I worked hard to find the key imagery in the lyrics to tell the story.

The riff from Skip James’ “Hard Time Killing Floor Blues” got stuck in my head last year, and I thought giving it a Zeppelin “Black Dog” kind of interpretation would be fresh.

The final song on the CD “Say You Will” has what I call an epilogue, where the gears shift and some David Gilmore influence surfaces, taking the listener off into oblivion. That was such a fun track to record!

Read more… close
Deep Deep Blue: CD
  • Deep Deep Blue: CD

Deep Deep Blue: CD

In cart Not available Out of stock

Produced by John Kessler Dudley Taft – Guitar, Vocals John Kessler – Bass Chris Leighton – Drums on songs 1, 4, 5, 6, 10 Scott Vogel – Drums on songs 2, 3, 7, 11 Jason Patterson – Drums on songs 8, 9 Eric Robert – Keyboards on songs 4, 5, 6, 10, 11 Ashley Christensen – Backing Vocals on songs 4, 7, 10, 11

Recorded at London Bridge Studios, Studio X, Studio D, Seattle, WA; Jeff Grimes Studio, Goldsboro, NC; Studio D, Chapel Hill, NC.

Read more… close